The dangers of taking people for granted….

10 May

If there is a person you know who cares for you, and they are putting in effort to make you a better person, you don’t want to take them for granted. It’s not good to do. This message is about folks outside of your family. You can build up a sense in your mind that you are worth so much that the individual and their caring is not a big deal to you, or that you are entitled to their concern, but this is not true in either sense. In that case, you are taking them for granted.

Are You Taking Someone For Granted?

Think about if there is someone or multiple people like this for you. Is there someone who is giving you energy on a regular basis, who you are getting the sense will always be there? Is there someone who is giving you honest feedback, to help you out directly, when others are too afraid or unconcerned to do the same? Do you know someone who you might be hurting, who is letting you get away with more than you deserve?

Accept Any Errors You Have Made

You have to accept the effects of what you may have done, or how you may have treated or viewed this person. One good way to understand this is to put yourself in their place. If I was trying my best to provide value and care for a person, and they did things that showed that they didn’t completely recognize this, it would leave me wondering about what they were thinking. “Why are they not recognizing the good intent I had in mind?” would be the thought taking place. And we must remember that one day we will need that same kind of love and care, it is important to treat, love, and take care of people the way we want it done to us. But if we mistreat/or take others for granted (people) and do them wrong we know that the Bible talks about sowing and reaping, we will receive what we give out. I don’t know about you, but life is too short to play around with people like that and I want God to be pleased with my actions and my service when helping others.

Recognize What You Can

Once you have put yourself in their shoes, you can go back into your own mind, and see what you have. Right now, you may have a person that fits this concept, and the opportunity is still there to tell them and show them that you appreciate their concern by reciprocating it. This could range from someone who you are very close with to an acquaintance who helps you in minor ways. Regardless of who the person is, they are a person just like you, and not recognizing and appreciating their selves and efforts speaks poorly about who you are.

Imagine Only You And The Person

One way to see this concept in a new light is to imagine that you are alone in a room with the person, and you are the only two people around. How are things different now? Do you now see them as the person they are, who is caring and helpful, when you are not distracted by others? Here are two pictures to help with this imagining:

Imagine what it is like seeing that person as the only person around

Then imagine what it would be like if that person left the room

There might be 20 other people in the “room” with you, but sometimes there is only one person in the “room” who is giving you a big benefit of the doubt, and who you are not showing appreciation for through your behavior. Remember that the room will feel empty without this person, even with the other 19 in it. It is up to you to take note of your current relational situations, because being left alone in the “room” is not something you want to experience.

Give others a bigger benefit of the doubt than they give you, and you should be fine. What stand out to me the most in this situation is that taking people for granted may seem so small, but it really is a great indication of where the person’s heart is. I try my best to make sure that I don’t take anyone for granted, because it’s easy to do, and sometimes we do it and may not even be aware of it. I have actually been the person who was taking for granted and when I found out that it had happened I was crushed, but there is always somebody out there who actually will be gracious and appreciative. Family do it all the time. Siblings, Spouses, relatives, we cannot afford to do this because everyone knows that one day we will all die, and once that person is gone it is too late to make up or say thank you. We must live, love, care, and be there for one another as best we can. With God’s love we can do it!
Jesus don’t want us taking each other for granted, rather but keeping his commandments and being very thankful for other people in our lives that he have placed there.
1 Now it came to pass, when Jesus had finished all these sayings, that He said to His disciples, 2 “You know that after two days is the Passover, and the Son of Man will be delivered up to be crucified.” 3 Then the chief priests, the scribes, and the elders of the people assembled at the palace of the high priest, who was called Caiaphas, 4 and plotted to take Jesus by trickery and kill Him. 5 But they said, “Not during the feast, lest there be an uproar among the people.” 6 And when Jesus was in Bethany at the house of Simon the leper, 7 a woman came to Him having an alabaster flask of very costly fragrant oil, and she poured it on His head as He sat at the table. 8 But when His disciples saw it, they were indignant, saying, “Why this waste? 9 For this fragrant oil might have been sold for much and given to the poor.” 10 But when Jesus was aware of it, He said to them, “Why do you trouble the woman? For she has done a good work for Me. 11 For you have the poor with you always, but Me you do not have always.Matthew 26:1-11(NKJV). Lord I pray in Jesus name, that You help us to never  take anyone for granted, that help us to show and demonstrate Your love and that You help us to be kind, respectful, to others, our family, friends, or even strangers. Everybody needs Your love, keep us Lord forever in Your care, in Jesus name I pray, Amen.

7 Responses to “The dangers of taking people for granted….”

  1. untouchable4 July 8, 2014 at 12:35 am #

    I was reading your blog and i really enjoyed your comments. yest it isn’t good to take people for granted. God puts people in our live to love and care for them and when we begin to mistreat them it becomes a problem

    • chozengirl2012 July 9, 2014 at 6:58 pm #

      Yes, and who are you? I want to see you and know more about you. Thanks soooooooooo much for your response. Have a great day!

    • chozengirl2012 July 9, 2014 at 7:01 pm #

      Yes, that is why I make sure that I treat people just the way I wanted to be treated. It’s not always easy, but it must be done.

      • cynthis sanders July 14, 2014 at 10:33 pm #

        My name is cynthia and im living in southern california the hollywood area. I’m just looking for a outlet to express myself, i don’t have a phone but i have access to the web. Just want a friend i can email and write back and forth. someone to talk to

      • chozengirl2012 July 16, 2014 at 5:38 pm #

        Okay Cynthia, lol, how did you find me? I do believe in kismet, providence or whatever you would like to call it. And I am so very glad that you did, you have no clue on how lonely I am sometimes. And I will email you back and forth if that’s what you want. I am from Los Angeles myself, and I have been to Hollywood once with my Dad. It was a great experience for me. I actually wanted to live there when I was about 15, but it didn’t pan out.

    • chozengirl2012 January 12, 2015 at 3:24 am #

      HAPPY NEW YEARS to you Cynthia!

  2. untouchable4 July 21, 2014 at 11:05 pm #

    cynthiasanders699@yahoo.com, i get a little bored myself sometime but its always good to develop new friendships. I am in school right now trying to get my bachelor in management 6 classes away. I want to get into writing, i use to write when i was younger but i lost touch with that creative side. I was surfing the web and ran across your blogs. I was actually looking into getting a job blogging. I am currently looking for a online job until i finish school

Leave a Reply

